What I learned from my adventure in citizen journalism

August 26, 2009 § 1 Comment

SOLVE on Montrose by Robert Loerzel

Last week, I was thrust into a maelstrom of citizen journalism and neighborhood activism (for details, see my last post and any of the media coverage of violence in Uptown).  I’m working on a short amateur film that recaps the experience and hopefully keeps the social momentum going.  After all, I’ve got plenty of additional footage from where my now infamous Leland & Sheridan gang riot video came from.

So what have I learned from this experience? Some thoughts in the form of two talks I happened upon today . . .

The Dangerous Power of Sharing (Power): A deeply insightful lecture from Mark Pesce of the University of Sydney on power structures in a hyperconnected world. Here is what Mark brilliantly posits:

Power must surrender power, or be overwhelmed by it. Sharing power is not an ideal of some utopian future; it’s the ground truth of our hyperconnected world.

Brand U.0: David Armano delivers a smart little piece on personal branding in the age of social networks and digital niches.

Helen Shiller obviously hasn’t the faintest understanding of what these guys are saying, which will likely lead to her political downfall should she choose to run for office in 2011.

§ One Response to What I learned from my adventure in citizen journalism

  • Laurie Cirivello says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this gem: “Sharing power is not an ideal of some utopian future; it’s the ground truth of our hyperconnected world”.
    Will be pasting all over the office walls as our community citizen journalism project goes live in 20 days!
    (www.therapidian.org)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I learned from my adventure in citizen journalism at Design Planning.

meta

